Dancing Away From Hypotonia

Hello everyone! Long time, no see, right?

Well, I’ve been kept busy lately with a big project – something that I was incredibly dedicated to and now it’s over.

I was in Legally Blonde: The Musical at my school!

I’ve always loved musicals – my love started with Phantom of the Opera and singing along to the cast recording at nine years old. I also love Les Mis and Love Never Dies.

When I found out my school was doing Legally Blonde, my friend told me to audition! I did, and tbh I didn’t expect anything. That night, I had to (start and) finish a project for one of my AP classes. I was stressed and tired, and didn’t know what I signed myself up for. I saw the cast list the next morning and was excited that I got in as a Delta Nu girl!

January through March were filled with hard work, teambuilding, and renewal. Even though the dance lessons and rehearsals pushed me, I still tried my best.

I have hypotonia, which is decreased muscle tone. It’s a condition I was born with, and I attended speech and physical therapy to better my condition. My muscles have gotten stronger over my life, and as they progressed, so did my drive to pursue opportunities I missed out on.

I’m not an incredible dancer, but doing cardio dance workouts (this one is my favorite!), dancing freely to music, and practice all helped improve my skill. At our first “dance day”, we learned the choreography. I was not prepared at all. I wore my school outfit, a sweater, jeans, and booties to practice. I don’t recommend! By the end, I was exhausted, sore, and sweaty. Also a bit discouraged, since I was not confident in my abilities.

However, by the last dance day, I came to practice with my ponytail fastened and sneakers on. I concentrated to the instructions given and repeated them in my mind. Our choreographer told us, “Practice like you perform”. This meant that if we don’t put our best effort into the preparation, then our actual performance would be lackluster. If you half-ass your leap every practice, then your leap won’t look great on stage.

I noticed my strength increasing with every rehearsal. In one number, my friend and fellow Delta Nu had to lift Elle. When we attempted it on Dance Day, we had trouble. By the performance, we did it no problem! Practice and endurance increased our ability.

I also shed fear and stability through this process. I’m an analytical person, constantly worrying about how others perceive me. This quality does not work when performing; to truly put on a good show, lose your insecurities and just go with it

Not surprisingly, America’s Next Top Model helped me. Tyra always makes a fool of herself in front of her peers, and they respect her for being authentic. I applied this to my work. My friends and I would dance and joke around backstage, and we didn’t judge each other – it made our friendship and trust stronger.

Tyra Banks Flirting GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Another way ANTM helped me was with facial expressions! My character was bubbly, sassy, and fun, so I needed my face and energy to match those traits. I tried to react to actions on stage, even if they didn’t necessarily pertain to me. I know from chorus concerts that the girl who doesn’t put effort in is easily spotted, and often brings down the entire performance and effect. Dedication and the “I don’t care if I look weird” is key!

Image may contain: 4 people, people on stage, people standing and shoes

This overall experience enabled me to develop confidence, make friendships, and grow as a person. I am so thankful for everyone who dedicated time and work into such an awesome show 🙂

xoxo Mere

Leave a comment